Series Review: The Thornchapel Quartet

The Thornchapel Quartet by Sierra Simone:
• A Lesson in Thorns
• Feast of Sparks
• Harvest of Sighs
• Door of Bruises

Honestly, I don’t know if I’m even capable of writing an objective review of this series. I should start by telling you two important facts that I believe were essential to enjoying these books as much as I did:

1 – I listened to the entire series on audio. The talent on these audiobooks is just phenomenal, and these narrators took an already beautiful story and elevated it to near perfection. Between Simone’s rich and stunningly beautiful prose and the incredible voice talent, all I had to do was close my eyes and I was transported straight to Thornchapel, with its beautiful and mysterious grounds, the beautiful and mysterious people, and a sensual experience like no other.

2 – I made sure I knew absolutely nothing about the plots of each book prior to starting them. With the exception of the first book, I didn’t even allow myself to read the descriptions. I wanted no preconceived ideas of what lay ahead, I just wanted to sink into the story and experience everything with fresh eyes (or ears). I highly recommend this approach if you decide to give this quartet a try.

Listening to these books was an experience. It consumed me. These characters and their story sank into my heart and invaded all of my quiet moments. I spent a total of over 50 hours listening and when I was done I didn’t know what to do with myself. It was like my six best friends all moved away and left me with no way to contact them.

So, what can you expect from the Thornchapel series? Seductive prose that fires your imagination, a group of six beautiful, bisexual, and frankly really horny friends, a sprawling English manor, a musty library, a faithful dog, a mysterious Latin word, ritual sex, lots of kink, a hint of magic and the paranormal, pain, betrayal, angst, love in its many forms, and a story you will never forget.

But most importantly you’ll meet the heir, the dreamer, the priest, the socialite, the genius, and the saint…

Each book and the series as a whole: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a website or blog at

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: